CHAPTER XI. PUBLIC OFFENSESCHAPTER XI. PUBLIC OFFENSES\ARTICLE 2. LOCAL PROVISIONS

(a)   It shall be unlawful for any child under the age of Eighteen years to wander, lounge, loaf, loiter, congregate in groups, or play in, about, or upon any public street, alley, sidewalk, vacant lot, park or other public place normally accessible to the general public for public use, whether on foot or in a vehicle or by any means of conveyance after the hour of twelve midnight and before the hour of six a.m. of the following morning unless accompanied by a parent, legal guardian or other person exercising legal custody of such child.

(b)   It shall be unlawful for a parent, legal guardian or other person lawfully entitled to the care, custody and control of any child under the age of eighteen years to suffer, permit or allow any such child to be in violation of the provisions of subsection (a).

(c)   Any parent or legal guardian found to be in violation of this section and upon conviction thereof, shall be fined an amount no less than $10.00 but not to exceed $50.00.

(Ord. 473; Ord. 485; Code 2018)

(a)   No person shall propel himself or herself or ride any skateboard, roller skates, roller blades, bicycles, or scooters, or ride motorized devices such as scooters, minibikes, etc. on any public sidewalk on Washington Street, or in the City Park whether on the sidewalks or other surfaces therein. In other public areas where riding or operating such wheeled devices on the sidewalk is not prohibited, pedestrians shall have the right of- way to use the sidewalk for pedestrian travel. “Motorized transportation” shall not include motorized wheelchairs or other devices used for handicapped persons or others with limited physical capacity.

(b)   No person shall propel himself or herself on any skateboard, scooter or roller blades on Washington Street (aka Main Street) or the public basketball court.

(c)   Bicycles and motorized devices are prohibited on the Skateboard Park.

(d)   Any person violating this article shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and is responsible to pay any fine levied as well as court costs, and restitution for any damage incurred. If the offender is less than 18 years of age, a parent or guardian will be contacted by telephone, personal visit, or written statement by a law enforcement officer within 24 hours. A first offense will receive a written warning if there is no physical damage. If there is physical damage, a ticket will be issued. A second offense will result in a ticket with the fine to be decided by the judge of not less than ten dollars ($10.00) and not more than one hundred ($100.00) plus court costs. A third offense will result in a ticket, fine, court costs, and the law enforcement officer impounding any such wheeled device found in the possession of the offender. If the offender is less than 18 years of age, a parent or guardian may write a request to the judge to have the wheeled device released. The judge at such time may deem the parent or guardian to be the violator of this section if there are further violations by their underaged child.

(Ord. 541; Code 2018)

(a)   It shall be unlawful for any person to dance on the public streets of the City of Marquette, Kansas. The governing body may, in its discretion, grant permission to responsible individuals or organizations to allow dancing on the streets of Marquette, Kansas, at such times and places as the governing body may determine.

(b)   Penalty. Any person or persons who shall be convicted of the violation of the terms hereof or shall fail to observe the requirements herein prescribed, shall upon conviction thereof, be found to be guilty of a misdemeanor and fined in any sum, not to exceed $100.

(Ord. 427; Ord. 565; Code 2018)

(a)   No person shall conduct himself in a riotous or disorderly manner or shall indecently expose himself in a lewd and lascivious manner in public or shall commit any nuisance on any street, alley sidewalk or any public or private property for the purpose of looking through any window or door on such property.

(b)   Every person convicted of a violation of this section shall be punished by a fine of not more than $100.

(Ord. 440; Code 2018)